Council - Glenelg Shire

Latest News

19th Clark Rubber Australian Kelpie Muster 2015

A HUGE crowd of more than 10,000 people, and their dogs, descended on Casterton for the 19th Clark Rubber Australian Kelpie Muster held 6th and 7th June 2015 iin Casterton, Victoria. More

Kathleen Milikin Centre

Childcare Centre Opens for Business.


Whether you choose to live in a coastal environment or in a rural setting, the diverse nature of the Glenelg Shire makes it a wonderful place to live, work and raise a family. Live by the sea, in town or on a farm – the choice is yours.
Glenelg Shire is made up of friendly and vibrant communities with a large number of sporting, community and cultural organisations to participate in.
For those seeking a change from the fast and polluted city life, Glenelg Shire is the ideal place.
For the families there are a large number of first class primary and secondary schools, a TAFE campus and the Warrnambool campus of Deakin University is just an hour away.
Portland, Casterton and Heywood are each serviced by Hospitals offering quality facilities and services.
If you are looking for a place to live, come and have a look and become part of our community.
The Glenelg Shire Council was established by an Order-in-Council under the Local Government Act 1989, published in the Victorian Governement Gazette S63 on 23 September 1994. Three councils were amalgamated, the City of Portland and the Shires of Glenelg and Heywood, to form the new Glenelg Shire.

Electoral Structure of Glenelg Shire Council:

By order in Council made under Section 220Q(j) and (n) of the Local Government Act 1989, Glenelg Shire Council is re-constituted as an unsubdivided municipal district and the number of Councillors assigned to the Council is fixed at 7.

Glenelg at a Glance

Location South West Victoria
Total Area 6,212 square kilometres
Population 20,871
Climate Temperate
Average Rainfall 857mm
Average winter temperature 8 – 15 degrees celsius
Average summer temp 13 – 22 degrees celsius
Major urban city Portland (population 10,000)
Smaller town centres Casterton, Heywood, Dartmoor and Nelson

Print this page

Previous page: Community
Next page: Education Facilities